State of the Nation 2017

State of the Nation 2017

May 31
State of the Nation is Australia's premier public policy discussion forum, bringing together decision makers and leaders from government, business, industry and community organisations for an intensive, day-and-a-half of presentations and discussions on Australia's future prosperity.


The Hon. Malcolm Turnbull, Prime Minister of Australia
The Hon. Josh Frydenberg, MInister for the Environment and Energy, MInister for the Environment and Energy
The Hon. Christian Porter, Minister for Social Services, Minister for Social Services
Adrian Turner, CEO, Data61 and Co-Chair, Cyber Security Growth Centre

Event overview

For more than 35 years CEDA has hosted its annual State of the Nation conference in Canberra. Each year the conference brings together the best public policy minds from politics, business, academia and community organisations for open discussions on the key issues facing Australia's economic and social development.

Described in the media as "Australia's premier policymaker conference", State of the Nation attracts ministers and shadow ministers, public servants, commentators and industry analysts for an insider's view of the Federal Government's policies. Participants discuss issues directly with speakers and other attendees, and engage in networking opportunities.

Australia has enjoyed 25 years of consecutive economic growth. But with increased global competition, geopolitical uncertainty, industry upheaval, rising inequality and stifled economic reform, will Australia be able to continue its golden run?

In CEDA’s 2017 State of the Nation conference we will examine:

  • How our high-performing companies compete in the global marketplace;
  • How we can set up our growth sectors for success; and
  • How to improve economic security in times of change and uncertainty.

Meet the speakers

The Hon. Malcolm Turnbull
Prime Minister of Australia

The Hon. Josh Frydenberg
MInister for the Environment and Energy, MInister for the Environment and Energy

The Hon. Christian Porter
Minister for Social Services, Minister for Social Services

Adrian Turner
CEO, Data61 and Co-Chair, Cyber Security Growth Centre

Dr Alex Zelinsky
Chief Defence Scientist and Head, Defence Science and Technology Group, Federal Department of Defence

Andrew Leigh MP
Federal Shadow, Assistant Treasurer

Chris Sutherland
Managing Director, Programmed

Justin Brown
Deputy Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade

The Hon. Tom Koutsantonis
Treasurer of South Australia

The Hon. Tim Pallas
Treasurer of Victoria

Senator Pauline Hanson
One, Nation

Senator David Leyonhjelm
Liberal, Democratic Party

The Hon. Scott Morrison
Federal Treasurer

Senator the Hon. Fiona Nash
Federal Minister for Regional Development, Federal Minister for Regional Development

The Hon. Christopher Pyne
Federal Minister for Defence Industry, Leader of the House

The Hon. Bill Shorten
Federal Leader of the Opposition, Federal Leader of the Opposition

Senator the Hon. Arthur Sinodinos
Federal Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science

Jeff Connolly
Chief Executive Officer, Siemens Australia and New Zealand; Chairman, Prime Minister's Industry 4.0 Taskforce

Elizabeth Lewis-Gray
Chair and Managing Director, Gekko Systems, Chair, METS Ignited

Dr Fiona Haslam McKenzie
Co-Director, Centre for Regional Development, University of Western Australia

Renée Leonas
PSM, Secretary, Federal Department of Employment

Dr Stephanie Fahey
Chief Executive Officer, Austrade

Grant King
President, Business Council of Australia

Dr Geoff Raby
Former Australian Ambassador to China, Former Australian Ambassador to China

Dr Andrew Charlton
Director, AlphaBeta

Dr Eeva Leinonen
Vice Chancellor, Murdoch University

Sue MacLeman
Managing Director and CEO, MTP Connect

Dr Larry Marshall
Chief Executive, CSIRO

Senator Sarah Hanson-Young
The Australian Greens, The Australian Greens

Nick Xenophon
Nick Xenophon Team, Nick Xenophon Team

Supported by CEDA members

Major series sponsors

Keynote session sponsor

This page contains member only content

This page contains exclusive member only content. CEDA members can login to access this content. To enquire about the benefits of CEDA membership contact us.